Rushcroft Foundation Seal Colleges Cup Title


Rushcroft Foundation School 2-1 Barking Abbey School, Tuesday 9th May 2017, Kick-Off 2:00pm, Ship Lane, Essex County Schools FA Bryon Coomer Under 19s Colleges Trophy Final.

Rushcroft Foundation School retained the Bryon Coomer Under 19s Trophy as Barking Abbey were defeated 2-1 at Thurrock FC’s Ship Lane ground.

Walthamstow-based Rushcroft beat Shenfield twelve months ago to win the competition - effectively a league cup for sides in Division One of the Essex Colleges League - for the first time. Thanks to first-half goals from Olajuwon Ogunwamide and Kye Mitchell, the side led by management trio Brett Jones, Lawrence Ashworth and Neil Day successful defended the title.

Rushcroft took the lead in the 2017 edition with 11 minutes played. Ogunwamide’s angled run into the penalty area brought a low finish into the far corner. The lead could’ve been doubled shortly afterwards, Ogunwamide squandering a good chance for his second, curling wide of the near post after a decent ball from Mitchell.

Barking Abbey’s first half-chance of the afternoon saw Afolabi Soyemi-Ololade’s slightly scuffed finish bounce inches wide of the post. As they looked to extend their lead, a strike from Rushcroft’s Lufton Hysemi was shot pushed out by Abbey goalkeeper Ibrahim Ugradar, with the stopper then blocking excellently from Mitchell’s close-range rebound.

The second goal did arrive on 32 minutes. A ball into the box from Ogunwamide was only half cleared and Mitchell picked-up the pieces to curl an excellent shot inside the far corner. Within a minute, Abbey had a fine chance to halve the deficit. Benjamin Brako-Hiapah side-footed over from ten yards, but Rushcroft maintained their two-goal lead at the break.

Early in the second period, Rushcroft’s Marcel McDonald’s shot on the turn zipped just over the top but, on 53 minutes, Abbey pulled a goal back. Bosun Olajide’s surging run into the penalty ended in style with a firm 15-yard finish high into the net.

Keen to restore their two-goal advantage, a low, left wing cross from Rushcroft’s Montel Brown saw McDonald sweep a shot across the face of goal before David Mikanidi was played in on goal, only to be bravely denied by Ugradar, grabbing the ball at the Rushcroft man’s feet. Ugradar made another impressive block to keep his side in the match, and it nearly paid off as Barking Abbey enjoyed a strong finish to the tie.

A loose ball dropped to Olajide inside the penalty area, with his shot bringing a good save from Rhys Barrow, then Ryan Knight’s tenacity took his strong run into the penalty area before cutting back, but seeing his effort gathered by Barrow. Deep into added time, Abbey’s Darnell Broomfield fired agonisingly over the top from eight yards, though Rushcroft held on to protect the trophy won last year.

Barking Abbey School: Ibrahim Ugradar, Tajudeen Salawu, Ryan Knight, Darnell Broomfield, Aarif Seidu, Andrejus Bagdanavicius, Bosun Olajide, Golden Igbineweka, Afolabi Soyemi-Ololade, Rowan Newland, Benjamin Brako-Hiapah, Naseer Ishanzadeh, Joshua Birdi, Kyle Drummond, Adem Mazreku.

Rushcroft Foundation School: Rhys Barrow, Nuno Alexandre Espadaneira, Olajuwon Ogunwamide, Wyan Reid, David Mikanidi, William Woods, Jordan Russell, Lufton Hyseni, Joshua Edwards, Marcel McDonald, Kye Mitchell, Montel Brown, Oshunfummike Lewis, Tyron Seager.

Bookings: Barking: Broomfield (64, foul).

Referee: Thomas Johnson (Harlow).

Assistant Referees: Christopher Hockett (Southend-on-Sea) and Alan Moore (Billericay).

Facebook Stream Facebook Stream

Buy Now England vs Slovenia