HS Celebrations

Heybridge Swifts lift the Tolleshunt D'Arcy Memorial Cup

Heybridge Swifts lift the Tolleshunt D’Arcy Memorial Cup for the ninth time

Heybridge Swifts lifted the Tolleshunt D’Arcy Memorial Cup for the ninth time in the club’s history as Wivenhoe Town were defeated 5-0 at Swifts’ Scraley Road home.

It was the first time since Heybridge sealed a trio of successive wins in 2017 that the trophy went the way of those in black and stripes as goals from Rhys Henry, Tyler Brampton, Kieran Jones and Ben Sartain penalty and an own goal clinched the silverware.

Wivenhoe had previous beaten Swifts in both the 1973 and 1974 finals as the Dragons completed three-straight D’Arcy Cup wins of their own, but the Eastern Counties Division One side gave themselves an uphill battle against a Heybridge side two divisions higher in Isthmian North as Kieran Jones’ cross was diverted into his own net by a Wivenhoe defender with just seven minutes played.

Wivenhoe ‘keeper Lewis Hawley soon made two sharp saves to keep the host at bay, but the stopper was beaten again on 19 minutes as a good passing move sae Henry tap home from close range to double Heybridge’s lead.

As the visitors began to feel more comfortable, George Hart saw a shot zip just wide from the edge of the penalty area, but nine minutes before the break Heybridge scored a crucial third as Brampton’s excellent long range effort found the bottom right hand corner.

The second half was only eight minutes old when Heybridge were awarded a spot kick from which Jones confidently sent Hawley the wrong way to add a fourth.

In front of an excellent crowd of 251, with all proceeds going to the Essex FA Benevolent Fund to assist injured players who fall on financial hardship, the final goal of the evening arrived on 80 minutes as Swifts substitute Sartain found himself in the right place to fire home a loose ball inside the penalty area.

Heybridge Swifts: Thomas Wray, Tyler Brampton, Ryan Boswell, Lee Noble, Jack Mochalski, Quba Gordon, Sam Park, Rhys Henry, Callum Taylor, Kieran Jones, Michael Faulkner. Subs: Myles Anderson, Ben Sartain, Robert Harvey, Joseph Whitney, Byron Humbles.

Wivenhoe Town: Lewis Hawley, Oliver Judge, George Kuderovitch, Charlie Biggs, Connor Smith, Ryan Culleton, George Hart, Ben Gallifant, Harry Miller, Daniel Rogers, Michael Fitzgibbon. Subs: Mark Dallinger, Lewis Martin, Matthew Brand Baker, Mitchell Goddard, Glory Longi.