Grassroots Football Awards Winners

Essex’s 2022 Grassroots Football Award Winners Named

Incredible Local Volunteers Receive a Huge Thank You

Essex’s winners of the England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards have been named for 2022, thanking grassroots heroes for their coach, club and volunteer excellence.

Positive approaches to projects and encouragement at matches are being celebrated as various local champions receive congratulations for their dedicated service and ongoing work to make the local game a fun and enjoyable environment for all.

For more than ten years, the awards have recognised and celebrated leagues, clubs, coaches, players, match officials and volunteers who go over and above when it comes to football in their local community. The awards are recognising and celebrating the people who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across England.

The winners are people who can demonstrate how they make their positive impact happen. They behave with fairness and integrity and they create fun, safe and inclusive environments for all. They encourage the very best, both in themselves and in everybody around them. They have risen to overcome challenges and they make a truly positive impact in their community.

Essex’s winners for each of the categories now contribute to a shortlist for England Football’s national winners, awarded by a national judging panel. Lana Gillard, Essex County FA Football Development Officer, was keen to thank everyone involved in the process: “It was so pleasing to achieve such a high number of nominations.”

“I must show my appreciation to the panel, including Active Essex, London Sport and the Essex County FA Youth Forum and Inclusion Advisory Group, who helped to select Essex's winners. This was a very difficult task. These awards go to show just how much dedication there is from grassroots football volunteers in our county, which we’re incredibly proud of.”

Find out more about volunteering in football in the 'Volunteers' menu above. Information is also shared by @EssexCountyFA on Twitter and by the ‘EssexFootball’ page on Facebook.

Grassroots Football Awards

Essex's 2022 Winners

Grassroots Coach of the Year for Youth: Scott Hines (Thundersley Rovers YFC)

Highly Commended: Kerrie Bellingham (Harwich & Parkeston YFC), Dan Mandeman (Elite Colts YFC)

Grassroots Coach of the Year for Adults: Stuart Hales (JRM Soccability FC)

Highly Commended: Chris Mascall (Dagenham United FC), Ian Kilden (Hashtag United Women FC)

Grassroots Club of the Year: Tigers JFC

Grassroots Volunteer of the Year: Aynsley Davidson (Frinton & Walton YFC)

Highly Commended: Andy Rutter (Broomfield FC), Lisa Di Palma (Tigers JFC), Richard Cobb (Epping Youth FC)

Rising Star of the Year: Evie Doherty (Tigers JFC)

Highly Commended: Ted (Bowers & Pitsea YFC), Elliott Oliver (Witham Town YFC)

Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year: Dean Grace (White Notley FC)

Highly Commended: Dave Atton (Lawford FC)

Grassroots Project of the Year: FC Vilomah

Highly Commended: Changing Lives FC

Grassroots Match Official of the Year: Hollie Nathan

Highly Commended: Gary Telling, Alfie Davidson

Spirit of Grassroots Football Award: Bill Davidson (Parkeston Welfare Park YFC)

Highly Commended: Matthew Gray (Braintree Girls FC), Kevin Campen (Loughton YFC)

Related News

View All