Awards Evening

Grassroots Volunteers Recognised at Awards Evening

Essex County FA Present Mementoes to Local Heroes

Scores of local football volunteers were recognised for decades of service, fair play and dedication at the annual Essex County FA Awards Evening.

Accolades such as the FA McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards and recognition for community activities were handed out on Thursday 28th July at Colchester United FC to grassroots volunteers, whose efforts keep the game alive at the lower levels. The special guests were Geoff Pike and Paul Brush, who presented the mementoes and shared stories from their years at West Ham United FC.

The award winners were treated to fun activities, a meal and a special ceremony supported by Hospital Radio Chelmsford to add to the prestige.

To get involved in grassroots Essex football, please browse the menus above. Photos from the Awards Evening can be found here. Features on the event are available by searching for ‘EssexFootball’ on Facebook and @EssexCountyFA on Twitter. A full list of all Essex County FA award winners, from all categories, can be found below.

England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards

Grassroots Coach of the Year for Youth: Scott Hines (Thundersley Rovers YFC)

Highly Commended: Kerrie Bellingham (Harwich & Parkeston YFC), Dan Mandeman (Elite Colts YFC)

Grassroots Coach of the Year for Adults: Stuart Hales (JRM Soccability FC)

Highly Commended: Chris Mascall (Dagenham United FC), Ian Kilden (Hashtag United Women FC)

Grassroots Club of the Year: Tigers JFC

Grassroots Volunteer of the Year: Aynsley Davidson (Frinton & Walton YFC)

Highly Commended: Andy Rutter (Broomfield FC), Lisa Di Palma (Tigers JFC), Richard Cobb (Epping Youth FC)

Rising Star of the Year: Evie Doherty (Tigers JFC)

Highly Commended: Ted (Bowers & Pitsea YFC), Elliott Oliver (Witham Town YFC)

Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year: Dean Grace (White Notley FC)

Highly Commended: Dave Atton (Lawford FC)

Grassroots Project of the Year: FC Vilomah

Highly Commended: Changing Lives FC

Grassroots Match Official of the Year: Hollie Nathan

Highly Commended: Gary Telling, Alfie Davidson

Spirit of Grassroots Football Award: Bill Davidson (Parkeston Welfare Park YFC)

Highly Commended: Matthew Gray (Braintree Girls FC), Kevin Campen (Loughton YFC)

FA 50-Year Award

Barry Sackett (Leytonstone United FC), Dennis Yellop (Leytonstone United FC), Derek Vernon (Leytonstone United FC), Ken Tunbridge (Leytonstone United FC), Kevin Reilly (Leytonstone United FC), Mick Ewen (Referee, Essex Senior League, Ford United FC, Hornchurch FC, Redbridge FC), Paul Harvey (Maldon Sunday League, Tiptree Monarchs FC, Colchester Sunday League, Tiptree Social Club FC, Tiptree United FC, Tiptree Sportsman FC, Tiptree Heath FC, Essex & Suffolk Border League), Peter Andrew (Leytonstone United FC), Peter Andrews (Leytonstone United FC)

Award of Merit (40 Years)

Ann Longman (Stanway Villa YFC), Bob Ormston (Southend Borough & District Football Combination), Donald Fraser (Landwick FC), Kevin Davies (Colchester & District Sunday League), Frank Smith (Southend Charity Football Competition), Terry Francis (Harwich & Parkeston FC), Tony Brazier (Walthamstow FC)

Outstanding Service Award (30 Years)

Andy Schooler (Harwich & Parkeston FC), Bernie Oram (Essex Olympian League), Carl Allen (Harwich & Parkeston FC), Don French (Corringham Cosmos YFC), Gareth Ackery (Leigh Ramblers FC), Gary White (Southend Borough & District Football Combination), Ian Whitehead (Wakering Sports FC), Kim Farmer (Colchester City Ladies FC, Essex County Girls’ League), Lee Dorling (Essex Senior League, Referee), Peter Newman (Colchester & District Youth League), Robert Chadwick (Wakering Sports FC), Roger Causaker (Maldon Saints YFC), Terry Ripo (Referee)

Exemplary Service Award (20 Years)

Adam Mills (Referee), Andrzej Perkins (Walthamstow FC), Anthony Warren (West Bergholt FC), Barbara Spooner (Tigers JFC), Barry Hubbard (Bowers & Pitsea FC), Jacqueline Pavitt (Southend & District Junior League), June Brazier (Walthamstow FC), Keith Berriman (Tolleshunt Knights Eagles FC), Keith Di Palma (Tigers JFC), Lee Stevens (Bowers & Pitsea FC), Lisa Di Palma (Tigers JFC), Michael Spooner (Tigers JFC), Sheryl MacRae (Southend Borough & District Football Combination), Steve Howe (Walthamstow FC), Steven Dowding (Hawkwell Athletic YFC), Terry Smith (West Bergholt FC), Tony Armstrong (Harwich & Parkeston FC), Tony Shaw (Harwich & Parkeston FC)

#CelebrateEssex Volunteer Awards

Welfare Officer: Kimberley Meades (Linford Wanderers FC)
Footie Dad: Barry Crook (Galleywood YFC)
Media Manager: Liam Spreadbury and Max Clarke (Heybridge Swifts FC)
Coach (Youth): Donna Fletcher (Hatfield Peverel FC and St Clere's Women FC)
Coach (Adult): Danny Martin (Bowers & Pitsea Ladies) and Shane Windess (Bowers & Pitsea Ladies and Girls)
Footie Mum: Hazel Fay (St Clere's FC)
Treasurer: Angela Lenton (Ridgeway Rovers FC)
Secretary: Hazel Masarella (Essex Comets YFC)
Chairperson: Ian Bryant (Valley Green FC)

Awards Evening

Related News

View All