Senior Cup Preliminary and First Round Draws

BBC Essex Senior Cup Preliminary and First Round Draws

Buckhurst Hill on the Road for First Game in Competition

The draws for the Preliminary and First Rounds of the BBC Essex Senior Cup were broadcast on-air on Thursday 7th October, handing Buckhurst Hill an intriguing trip to FC Clacton for their first ever tie in the competition.

The Senior Cup is back for the 2021/22 season, with clubs looking forward to an exciting set of matches once more, featuring sides from the Football League through to Step Six. Included amongst those teams at this stage are Buckhurst Hill, who will be participating in the Senior Cup for the very first time. They will visit Clacton on or before 23rd October.

There are 28 clubs from Step Four of the FA National League System who receive a bye through to the Third Round, which will be drawn in late November. For the Preliminary Round, all Essex clubs from Step Six were involved, as well as six Step Five teams who were randomly drawn out - FC Clacton, Ilford, Redbridge, Takeley, Walthamstow and West Essex.

The draw for the First Round then featured the winners of all of the Preliminary Round ties, plus the remaining Step Five clubs in the competition. Two guests helped with the draw proceedings. Glenn Speller from BBC Essex pulled out the home clubs, while Mark Wallis from the Essex County FA Competitions Department was responsible for the away teams.

Preliminary Round (on or before 23rd October)

Takeley vs West Essex
Benfleet vs Wivenhoe Town
Walthamstow vs Newbury Forest
Coggeshall United vs Harwich & Parkeston
FC Clacton vs Buckhurst Hill
Barkingside vs Holland
Burnham Ramblers vs Ilford
Redbridge vs Frenford
Halstead Town vs May & Baker Eastbrook Community

First Round (on or before 6th November)

Takeley or West Essex vs Stanway Rovers
Stansted vs Redbridge or Frenford
Coggeshall United or Harwich & Parkeston vs White Ensign
Barkingside or Holland vs Benfleet or Wivenhoe Town
Southend Manor vs FC Clacton or Buckhurst Hill
Halstead Town or May & Baker Eastbrook Community vs Saffron Walden Town
Athletic Newham vs Burnham Ramblers or Ilford
Walthamstow or Newbury Forest vs Little Oakley

Second Round (on or before 20th November)

Barkingside or Holland or Benfleet or Wivenhoe Town vs Athletic Newham or Burnham Ramblers or Ilford
Southend Manor or FC Clacton or Buckhurst Hill vs Walthamstow or Newbury Forest or Little Oakley
Halstead Town or May & Baker Eastbrook Community or Saffron Walden Town vs Stansted or Redbridge or Frenford
Coggeshall United or Harwich & Parkeston or White Ensign vs Takeley or West Essex or Stanway Rovers

The following clubs are exempt until the Third Round: Aveley, Barking, Basildon United, Billericay Town, Bowers & Pitsea, Braintree Town, Brentwood Town, Brightlingsea Regent, Canvey Island, Chelmsford City, Coggeshall Town, Colchester United, Concord Rangers, Dagenham & Redbridge, East Thurrock United, Grays Athletic, Great Wakering Rovers, Harlow Town, Hashtag United, Heybridge Swifts, Hornchurch, Hullbridge Sports, Maldon & Tiptree, Romford, Southend United, Tilbury, Waltham Abbey, Witham Town.

You can find full details about the BBC Essex Senior Cup on this website throughout the season, by following @EssexCountyFA on Twitter and by searching for ‘EssexFootball’ on Facebook.

Related News

View All