FA Grassroots Awards Winners

National Grassroots Awards 2020 Winners Announced

Thanks for Football Volunteers, Coaches, Referees and Parents

The Football Association have named the national winners of the FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards, thanking them for their coach, club and volunteer excellence, as well as their positive approach to projects, refereeing and encouragement at matches.

The FA received a record number of nominations, with 4,761 people put forward as the grassroots heroes of 2020. These people make grassroots football happen week-in, week-out. From supporters, referees, coaches or volunteers, the 2020 winners are those whose actions and behaviour make The FA’s ‘Pride’ values part of the game for their clubs, leagues and communities.

For over ten years, the awards have recognised and celebrated leagues, clubs, coaches, players, match officials and volunteers who go over and above when it comes to football in their local community. This year’s national winners were:

Volunteer of the Year: Tony Pratt, Rayners Lane FC (Middlesex FA)
Rising Star of the Year: Elsa Jones, Hanwell Town FC (Middlesex FA)
Grounds Team of the Year: Paul Wade, Orpington FC (Kent FA)
Project of the Year: Diversity Football (Oxfordshire FA)
Match Official of the Year: Ella Broad (Wiltshire FA)
Coach of the Year (Adult): Farouk Menia, AFC Phoenix/Dulwich Hamlet Women FC (London FA)
Coach of the Year (Youth): Tony Mitchell, Winsford Over 3 JFC/Disability (Cheshire FA)
League of the Year: Herts Senior County League (Hertfordshire FA)
Club of the Year: Sandbach United FC (Cheshire FA)
#WeOnlyDoPositive Respect Parents Award: Harefield United Under 16s (Middlesex FA)
Bobby Moore Award: Oliver Miller, Cerebral Palsy United (Manchester FA)

Essex's local victors were previously named back in July. 230 nominations had been submitted, representing an all-time record and an increase of 51 compared to last year’s figure. Ten winners were congratulated for their dedicated service and ongoing work to make the local game a fun and enjoyable environment for all:

Volunteer of the Year: Kenny Bentham (Woodham Radars FC)
Rising Star of the Year: Spencer Hume (Essex & Suffolk Border League)
Grounds Team of the Year: Kevin Mansfield (Maldon Saints YFC)
Project of the Year: Witham Town FC Soccability
Match Official of the Year: Aaron Farmer
Coach of the Year (Adult): Keith Berriman (Tolleshunt Knights Eagles FC)
Coach of the Year (Youth): Rachel Harwood (Beacon Hill Rovers YFC)
League of the Year: Essex Soccability League
Club of the Year: Tigers JFC
#WeOnlyDoPositive Respect Parents Award: Sandra Abutrab (West Essex Colts FC)

To find out more about volunteering in grassroots Essex football, browse the 'Volunteers' menu above, follow @EssexCountyFA on Twitter and search for ‘EssexFootball’ on Facebook. Read more about the national winners by clicking this link.

Related News

View All