Referee Promotions

Referees Celebrate 2017/18 Promotion Success

Match Officials Praised for Developmental Approach

61 Essex match officials are looking forward to the 2018/19 football season with heightened optimism having been recognised for their progressive approach and commitment by being elevated in the latest round of promotions.

Following a Promotions Panel Meeting at the Essex County FA, a list has been revealed detailing the referees and assistant referees who have been moved up thanks to high levels of development and their dedication to improving standards. The Promotions Panel consisted of current and former referees, working with information gathered by Referee Assessors.

Each of the match officials has been contacted by Senior Referee Development Officer, James Lisher, to personally inform them of their promotions to their respective new levels. “I’d like to take this opportunity, on behalf of the Essex County FA, to thank all the leagues who provided us with support in developing our match officials,” he commented.

“There’s never been a better opportunity to officiate within the senior levels of the game thanks to the development schemes we have in place. An increasing number of officials are applying and showing they have the ability to officiate at a higher level. The way we train and assess our match officials is adapting as football is consistently developing.”

Find out more about the referee promotion process in Essex in the 'Referees' section above or contact James Lisher via (01245) 393097 or Information is also regularly shared on Twitter @EssexCountyFA and by searching for ‘EssexFootball’ on Facebook.

Referees Promoted to Level 2A - Panel Select Referee: Lloyd Wood (Romford)

Referees Promoted to Level 3-2B - Panel Referee: Dean Skipper (Rainham)

Referees Promoted to Level 3 - Contributory League Referee: Joe Wrigley (Halstead), Jack Willmore (Tendring), Jamie Pope (Rochford), Rhys Battye (Thurrock), Farai Hallam (Redbridge), Brett Grant (Castle Point), Craig Pullen (Havering)

Referees Promoted to Level 4 - Supply League Referee: Nathan Oakes (Colchester), Joe Burgess (Castle Point), Leo Del Rosso (Brentwood), Paul Sturton (Chelmsford), Sam Wigington (Thurrock), Thomas Johnson (Harlow)

Referees Promoted to Level 5 - Senior County Referee: Adekola Adeyemi (Basildon), Ayesemuate Agho (Harlow), Joe Alborough (Leigh-on-Sea), Leigh Ballinger (Basildon), Paul Bursey (Billericay), Connor Cranfield (Harlow), Callum Dorling (Harlow), Toby Enstone (Tiptree), Matthew Friend (Dagenham), Gemma Gardiner (Clacton-on-Sea), Cristiana Hattersley (Westcliff-on-Sea), Michael Iddenden-Smith (Purfleet), Paul Killoran (Upminster), Paul Lingard Snr (Benfleet), Simon Lyons (Halstead), Alan Moore (Billericay), Jack Ridge (Witham), Charlie Roberts (Romford), Errol Souter (Colchester), Neil Strachan (Witham), Adrian Summerfield (Basildon), James Tape (Basildon), Matthew Webb (Braintree)

Referees Promoted to Level 6 - County Referee: Mariusz Burchan (Braintree), David Cavanagh (Brentwood), Paul Clarke (Waltham Abbey), Rhys Collins (Clacton-on-Sea), Richard Fox (Leigh-on-Sea), Adam Gordon (Shoeburyness), Conner Hodgkins (Clacton-on-Sea), Lee Jarvis (Grays), Nathan Kitteridge (Harlow), Ivo Komsiyski (Woodford Green), Howard Mackler (Southminster), Charlie Nicholls (Billericay), Richard Ramjane (Chelmsford), Robert Reddy (Brentwood), Charlie Roberts (Romford), Luke Scottow (Southend-on-Sea), Robert Steptoe (Brentwood), Neil Troubridge (Hornchurch), Robert Watson (Dunmow), Greig Williamson (Harlow)

Meanwhile, the following assistant referees have been promoted to become Panel Select Assistant Referees: Aaron Farmer (Colchester), David Harrison (Wickford), Karl Sear (Chelmsford)

Related News

View All