Board and Council

Essex County FA

representing essex football

your council

Life Vice-President: Morris Jeffers. Life Members: Michael Hemsted, Eddie Rhymes, Michael Game, Alec Berry, David Threadgold. Vice-Presidents: Peter Crowhurst, James Quilter, Jeff Saxton, Wayne Deller, Roger Crane. Chief Executive and Company Secretary: Brendan Walshe. FA Representative: Andy Chaplin.

Contact Us

board of directors

2023/24 Season

Andy Chaplin

Andy Chaplin (Chair)

Barry Fitzgerald

Barry Fitzgerald (Council-Elected Director)

Council-Elected Director
Sheryl MacRae

Sheryl MacRae (Council-Elected Director)

Council-Elected Director
Andy French

Andy French (Council-Elected Director)

Council-Elected Director
Hafiza Patel

Hafiza Patel (Independent Non-Executive Director [Finance & IAG Chair])

About Us

Matt Clare (Independent Non-Executive Director [Board Safeguarding Champion])

Craig Leverington

Craig Leverington 2024 (Independent Non-Executive Director [Commercial])

About Us

Andrew Macdonald (Independent Non-Executive Director [Legal & Governance])


Group One Council Representatives (Braintree, Colchester, Maldon, Tendring)

Open-Age Representatives: Andy Chaplin (2015)

Youth Representative: Danny Coyle (2015)

Disability Football (Groups One and Two): Kelvin Jordan (2023)

Women & Girls: Kim Farmer (2016)


Group Two Council Representatives (Brentwood, Chelmsford, Epping Forest, Harlow, Uttlesford)

Open-Age Representatives: David Emerton (2005)

Youth Representative: John Meates (2021)

Disability Football (Groups One and Two): Kelvin Jordan (2023)

Women & Girls: Kevin Ward (2023)


Group Three Council Representatives (Basildon, Castle Point, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock)

Open-Age Representatives: Sheryl MacRae (2017), Kevin Curran (2012)

Youth Representative: Micah Hyde (2018)

Disability Football (Groups Three and Four): Vacant

Women & Girls: Debbie Leitch (2023)


Group Four Council Representatives (Barking & Dagenham, Havering, Newham, Redbridge, Waltham Forest)

Open-Age Representatives: Barry Fitzgerald (2012), Rob Parker (2021)

Youth Representative: David Birch (2023)

Disability Football (Groups Three and Four): Vacant

Women & Girls: Paul Anderson (2023)


Representative Council Members

Essex County Schools FA Representative: Phil Sammons (2023)

Essex Referees’ Association Representative: Andy French (2020)

Essex County FA Youth Forum Representative: Alfie Davidson (2023)

Veterans Football: Vacant

Futsal Pathway: Naser Mohamed (2023)

Walking Football: Derek Hornsey (2023)