Collier Row A 2-4 Haver Town (Saturday Junior Trophy Final)

Haver Town Are Saturday Junior Trophy Champions

Collier Row A 2-4 Haver Town, Friday 12th April 2024, Kick-Off 7:45pm, Heybridge Swifts FC, Essex Saturday Junior Trophy Final.

Haver Town are the 2024 Essex Saturday Junior Trophy winners after they defeated Collier Row A with goals from George Dunn, Louie Scott, Ben Sparrow and an own goal sealing the silverware at Heybridge Swifts’ Scraley Road home.

Town initially fell behind to a 24th-minute Harry Gilham strike, but they turned the match in their direction when Dunn and Scott netted on 28 and 37 minutes respectively. Tom Ribbons levelled for Collier Row a minute into first-half injury time but an own goal mid-way through the second period, added to by Sparrow, ensured Manager Luke Maydell’s side were victorious.

Skipper Gilham put Collier Row in front, controlling the ball in the area and calmly side-footing into the bottom corner to give his side the lead. But it was a quick reply for Haver, leaders of Mid Essex League Division Two, as Dunn expertly drilled home from distance just four minutes later.

Town then moved in front, Scott pouncing on a loose ball in the box and 1finding the bottom right-hand corner, only for Collier Row to restore parity with the half time whistle approaching, Ribbons getting his head to a right-flank corner and nodding home from under the crossbar.

Both teams deserved the lead at different stages of an entertaining first half, and a competitive opening to the second meant it wasn’t until the 66th minute that one of the sides re-gained an advantage. A long ball was sent into the crowded Collier Row penalty box and an unfortunate defensive header flew into the net for an own goal.

And the title was sealed when Haver’s Max Harbrow charged down the left side and squared to substitute Sparrow, who classily found the bottom corner from the edge of the box. This meant Town had emulated their Reserve Team from 2021/22, who also won the competition as the trophy headed back down the A12 to Brentwood.

Collier Row A: Ryan Richards, Josh Allen, Luke Fearne, Harry Gilham (C), Max Hodgson, Jack Stockdale, Kai Geere, Tommy Heneghan, Henry Allinson, Sean Archer, Tom Ribbons. Substitutes: Jake Bridgeman, Farhaan Korimbocus, Nathan Eigie, Josh Gibbins, Saul Morris. Joint Managers: Harry Smith, Cody Harris and Yiannis Phokou.

Haver Town: Jake Bradenbury, Alex Grant, Frankie Parlour, Bradley Chapman, Connor Maxam, Louie Scott, Max Harbrow, George Dunn, Harry Joiner, Jack Levy, Ryan Heather (C). Substitutes: Freddie Every, Ben Sparrow, Luke Maydell, Paddy Tighe, Jack Maydell. Manager: Luke Maydell.

Referee: Ashley Diamond (Barking & Dagenham).

Assistant Referees: Alexander Galbally (Chelmsford) and George Lusardi (Epping Forest).

Fourth Official: Mark Ellis (Epping Forest).

Attendance: 338.


Hear from the winning manager and view the photos...

Related News

View All