Billericay Town 2-0 Concord Rangers (Cassels Under 16s Cup Final)

Billericay Town Win Cassels Under 16s Cup

Billericay Town 2-0 Concord Rangers, Sunday 21st April 2024, Kick-Off 2:00pm, Saffron Walden Town FC, Essex Cassels Under 16s Cup Final.

Harry Tear and Reiss Lowe were the goal-scoring heroes as Billericay Town lifted the Essex Cassels Under 16s Cup with a victory against Concord Rangers at Saffron Walden Town FC’s Catons Lane home.

A goal in each half was sufficient to see Town lift the silverware, Tear netting on 32 minutes and Lowe adding a second in the 55th minute. Billericay went down to ten players in the second half, but they still managed to take home the prestigious cup.

Town almost took a 22nd-minute lead with the first real opening of the match. Lowe raced through on goal but his effort along the floor was well saved by goalkeeper Max Seymour. Though they did move in front when the ball was flicked-on and into the path of Tear, and he made no mistake in tapping home at the far post. Concord then attempted to level on 38 minutes through Ruben Philip, whose 20-yarder screamed narrowly over the crossbar.

Four minutes after the half time interval, Concord hit the post as they went in search of an equaliser, but Billericay were keen to add to their advantage at the other end. Oscar Jones watched as his 52nd-minute strike was well held by Concord custodian Seymour.

Town did eventually double their advantage courtesy of Lowe, who headed into the net from a corner kick, though their cause wasn’t helped when they went down to ten players on 65 minutes. It could have been a path back into the game for Concord, who had an excellent opportunity on 66 minutes, though goalkeeper George Sapsford proved equal to Philip's close-range shot and Billericay held out to win the cup.

Billericay Town: George Sapsford, Alexander Ansell, Harry Tear, Oscar Jones, Jahziah Blackford, Reiss Lowe, Marcell De Sousa-Boachie, Joel Suka, Ned Hepburn, Tajuddin Bello, Ronny Ruiz. Substitutes: Jack Williams, Joe Poyton, Viktor Vatev, Tom Walker, Jacques Lorraine. Manager: Lee Williams.

Concord Rangers: Max Seymour, Olly Filer, Quinn Seymour, Ellis Whittingham, Connor Brooks, Mack Polyblank, Dexter Humphreys, Kye Munro, Max Hockey, Micky Kelly, Ronnie Durussel. Substitutes: Oliver Leworthy, Luke Whitbourn, Frank Whyte, Finley Apps, Ruben Philip. Manager: Andrew Brooks.

Referee: Liam Dawson (Thurrock).

Assistant Referees: Daniel Goodman (Colchester) and Pierce Campbell (Colchester).

Fourth Official: Rasmus Adamah (Thurrock).

Attendance: 168.


View all the official images from the big match...

Related News

View All