Essex Community Awards Winners Named


Local football volunteers have been recognised through the 2017 FA Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, with winners being selected and revealed for making a real difference to the grassroots game.

Essex set an all-time record for the number of nominations collected by any county this year, with the goal of rewarding the clubs, coaches and volunteers who keep the national game alive. Nominees could be from any walk of life who have gone above and beyond in the name of football. For 2017, the category winners were as follows:

* Best Inclusive Project: SheCanPlay
* Coach of the Year: Marc Stephen (Chelmsford City Girls FC and Meadow Youth FC)
* FA Charter Standard Club: Uplands Rangers FC
* FA Charter Standard Community Club: Hawkwell Athletic FC
* FA Charter Standard Development Club: Collier Row FC
* Outstanding Contribution to Community Football: Craig Leverington (Hawkwell Athletic FC)
* Young Volunteer of the Year: James Cole (Maldon Saints YFC)
* FA Charter Standard League: Brentwood Community Football Alliance

The national winners will be chosen by a judging panel featuring 1966 World Cup winner and McDonald’s Director of Football, Sir Geoff Hurst and will be announced at an FA Community Awards Ceremony. Essex County FA Chief Executive, Brendan Walshe, is delighted with the Essex’s response to the nomination process. “It’s fantastic!” he said.

“To set a record for the number of nominations one county has generated shows the passion there is for grassroots football in Essex. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, but also huge thanks are due to all the clubs, coaches, leagues and volunteers who keep the game running in an organised, enjoyable and safe fashion. Essex should be proud!”

To learn more about the awards, log onto or E-Mail Danielle Warnes at For further details on grassroots football in Essex, browse the menus above, follow @EssexCountyFA on Twitter and search for ‘EssexFootball’ on Facebook.

Facebook Stream Facebook Stream

Buy Now England vs Slovenia